Distraction Through Fun and Entertainment

The waiting continues but I’ve had a fun (and distracting) last couple of days.

Thursday night, Barry and I went to a pub and then played SingStar at home.  Barry won as usual but it’s always fun playing SingStar.  I still remember the first time I played SingStar with Barry in India.  I was so full of it and was very sure I would win.  Little did I know that he was this expert SingStar-singer and he totally kicked my tush!

On Saturday I slept in and Barry made us Ham and Cheese Omelets.  It was nice waking up to breakfast.  We now have a little notebook where we add recipes we like and we’ve added the recipe for the omelets.  I’ve added the recipe to the Recipes page.

That afternoon we went to the Imperial War Museum.  I’m not quite sure why we picked this museum but it is close to our flat and it’s a museum.  I didn’t know exactly what to expect but was fairly entertained.  We were only able to do the main floor and one level up.  The main floor had war planes, vehicles, shells, bombs, anti-aircraft guns, a submarine and my favorite, an interactive submarine.  It was mainly aimed at kids but I really enjoyed it.  The second level had more anti-aircraft guns, planes, including an interactive fuselage of a plane (also something I enjoyed) and an exhibit that was called ‘The Secret War’.  The Secret War described the roles of the MI5 and MI6 during the different wars throughout history and how they have developed since the First World War.  It was pretty entertaining and it included the German Enigma cipher machine.  It had many more exhibitions and levels that we didn’t get to and we are both hoping we go back in the near future.

I also finished Mini Shopaholic (review coming soon) and was very pleased with it.  I quickly started Ken Follett’s Fall of Giants – a book I’ve been meaning to start for a few weeks now.  It started out pretty well and I’m already really into it.  I’ll post a review when I finish the book but I think this one will take some time – it’s pretty big!

I slept in (again!) on Sunday and made Whole Wheat Pancakes for breakfast.  I’m getting better at making the pancakes (if I do say so myself) and I may try them without the salt and with more milk next time.   I like my pancakes a little bit thinner than this recipe produces them and Barry doesn’t care for the salt, so we’ll see how they turn out next time with a little tweaking.

We went to Westfield Shopping Center this afternoon and looked around the shops.  It was really  nice to walk around a mall again.  I still like Regent, Oxford and Bond Streets but in the cold weather, being inside is pretty nice as well.  The Westfield in London is huge and beautiful.  It also has all the main shops one can think of and the placement of the shops makes sense (to me).  I specifically wanted to look for shoes so we concentrated on shoe shops (Kurt Geiger, Aldo) and checked out some of the main shops (H&M, Debenhams, Marks & Spencer, Next, Zara). We had a mid-shopping snack at Starbucks (of course!).  I was disappointed that both Kurt Geiger (styles online were not in shop) and Aldo (they didn’t have my size) didn’t have the shoes I wanted but I am glad I found a pair that I really liked (style and price: 25.60GBP) at Debenhams.  I may still buy the shoes I liked at Aldo online.  Let’s see.  We didn’t really get to see all the shops or walk around all the levels but by the time we left Westfield we were pretty knackered and ready to head home!

Today was the first day I tried out my new pedometer iPhone app (iTreadmill) and I was very pleased that by the end of the day my step count was at 10,113!  I am hoping to monitor my step count daily.  This is something I have picked up from Barry who blogged about 10,000 steps a day, recently.

My wait continues but I think I have been doing a fairly decent job of distracting and keeping myself entertained.  I had a really fun weekend but I’m still I’m hoping to wake up to some good news tomorrow.

xoxo

Leave a comment